Digital ProductCHE / ZEIT ONLINE

Hochschulranking

Coinciding with the publication of the print edition of the ZEIT study guide, every year ZEIT ONLINE launches a new version of the CHE college ranking database. The ranking evaluates the quality of research and teaching at colleges as well as faculty development based on various criteria.

A variety of search approaches, such as by major, place of study and/or the user’s own compilation of evaluation criteria, give users the ability to create a customized overview of the various study programs and colleges.

These individual views are put together from a wide range of separate data. This results in high demands being placed on the visualization of these modules, which must have the ability to be combined in every possible way. We developed the initial programming and, together with scientists from the CHE and journalists from ZEIT, revise the backend for the new release every year. The search function is a core feature of the college ranking, and a great deal of attention is paid to it. It was implemented using Lucene.

In 2013, we optimized the college ranking website for display on smartphones.

Web-Ontology

Visit project

Our services
  • strategy
  • prototyping
  • implementation
  • agile development
  • visualization
  • quality management
  • continuing revolution

Digital ProductCHE / ZEIT ONLINE

Hochschulranking

Zeitgleich mit der Veröffentlichung der Printausgabe des ZEIT-Studienführers, launcht ZEIT ONLINE jedes Jahr auch eine neue Version der Hochschuldatenbank des CHE Centrum für Hochschulentwicklung. Das Ranking bewertet die Qualität von Forschung und Lehre an Hochschulen sowie die Fakultätsentwicklung anhand verschiedener Kriterien.

Verschiedene Zugänge, wie über das Studienfach, den Studienort und/oder eine eigene Zusammenstellung der Bewertungskriterien, ermöglichen es dem Interessierten, sich einen individuellen Überblick über die vielfältigen Studienangebote und Hochschulen zu verschaffen.

Diese individuellen Ansichten werden aus vielen Einzeldaten zusammengesetzt. Daraus ergibt sich eine hohe Anforderung an die Visualisierung dieser Module, die beliebig kombinierbar sein müssen. Wir entwickelten die initiale Programmierung und überarbeiten jedes Jahr gemeinsam mit den Wissenschaftlern vom CHE und den Journalisten von der ZEIT das Backend zur Neuveröffentlichung. Die Suche ist ein Kernfeature des Hochschulrankings, auf das viel Augenmerk gelegt wird. Sie wurde mit Hilfe von Lucene implementiert.

2013 haben wir die Website über das Hochschulranking für die Darstellung auf Smartphones optimiert.

Web-Ontology

zum Projekt

 

Unsere Leistungen
  • strategy
  • prototyping
  • implementation
  • agile development
  • visualization
  • quality management
  • continuing revolution