Digital ProductMuseen der Stadt Dresden

Virtual museum

Dresden’s museums are part of an association of eight municipal museums in the regional capital of Saxony and look after the city’s art collection, objects pertaining to the city’s history and Saxony’s industrial and technological history. They represent the memory of civic Dresden and the region and document its varied history as silent witnesses. The collections comprise artworks and objects of all kinds. Paintings, graphics, sculptures and industrial objects, written documents and handicrafts.

For some time, these artefacts have been digitalized to present them on the internet to a wider audience. In the “virtual museum” thus created, users can become acquainted with the collections irrespective of where they are located, and follow up on what they have seen during a museum visit, thus deepening their knowledge. This expansion into the virtual world offers museums many attractive options. They can expand their reach, involve the interested public more and continue to build on their social significance. The creation of the collection database was put out to tender as part of an ideas competition by the museums of the city of Dresden. Our concept prevailed against three other competitors, winning the contract to implement the project.

The focus of our approach is always based on the current content, be it individual objects, curated object contexts or results of user inputs such as searches or assembling artefacts in collection folders. All the tool’s controls are arranged around the edges and can be folded out when needed. This provides the greatest amount of space possible for the objects to be displayed at full resolution and shown in the greatest detail. Depending on the context, further levels of detail with meta information, alternative views and contexts can be displayed.

It is possible to access the collection both by browsing and by taking a specific route. In addition to curated tours, access to the academic system, and a field-based filter, above all, the integrated live full text search offers immediate and simple access to the many thousands of objects that have lain dormant for years as undiscovered treasures in the archives, and which in future years will be available to public scrutiny.

… more about the project

Our services
  • strategy
  • prototyping
  • application design
  • UX
  • UI
  • CMS
  • implementation
  • agile development
  • quality management

Digital ProductMuseen der Stadt Dresden

Virtuelles Museum

Die Museen der Stadt Dresden sind ein Verbund acht kommunaler Museen der sächsischen Landeshauptstadt und bewahren den städtischen Kunstbesitz, Objekte der Stadtgeschichte und der sächsischen Industrie- und Technikgeschichte. Sie sind das Gedächtnis des bürgerlichen Dresdens und der Region und dokumentieren als stumme Zeitzeugen vielfältig deren Geschichte. Die Sammlungen umfassen Kunstwerke und Objekte aller Art: Gemälde, Grafiken und Plastiken genauso wie Industrieobjekte, Schriftstücke und Handwerkskunst.

Diese Artefakte werden seit geraumer Zeit digitalisiert, um zukünftig im Internet einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung gestellt zu werden. In diesem so entstehenden „virtuellen Museum“ können Nutzer die Sammlungen standortunabhängig kennenlernen, nach einem Besuch der Museen das Gesehene weiter verfolgen und Wissen vertiefen. Diese Erweiterung ins Virtuelle bietet den Museen viele attraktive Möglichkeiten. Sie können ihre Reichweite vergrößern, die interessierte Öffentlichkeit stärker einbinden und somit ihre gesellschaftliche Signifikanz weiter ausbauen. Die Realisierung der Sammlungsdatenbank wurde von den Museen der Stadt Dresden im Rahmen eines Ideenwettbewerbes ausgeschrieben. Mit unserem Konzept haben wir uns gegen drei weitere Wettbewerber durchgesetzt und bekamen den Zuschlag zur Umsetzung des Projekts.

Der Fokus unseres Ansatzes liegt immer auf dem aktuellen Inhalt, seien es einzelne Objekte, kuratierte Objektzusammenhänge oder Ergebnisse von User-Eingaben wie Suchen oder das Zusammenstellen von Artefakten in Sammelmappen. Alle Bedienelemente des Tools sind an den Rändern angeordnet und können bei Bedarf ausgeklappt werden. Dadurch steht den Objekten der größtmögliche Raum zur Verfügung, um bildschirmfüllend und detailorientiert abgebildet zu werden. Kontextabhängig lassen sich weitere Detailebenen mit Meta-Informationen, alternativen Ansichten und Sinnzusammenhängen anzeigen.

Der Einstieg in die Sammlungen ist sowohl über Stöbern als auch über zielgerichtete Ansätze möglich. Neben kuratierten Touren, Zugriff auf die wissenschaftliche Systematik und einer feldbasierten Filterung bietet vor allem die integrierte Live-Volltextsuche einen unmittelbaren und einfachen Einstieg in die vielen tausend Objekte, die als unentdeckter Schatz jahrelang in den Archiven schlummerten und in den nächsten Jahren das Licht der Öffentlichkeit erblicken werden.

… mehr zu diesem Projekt

Unsere Leistungen
  • strategy
  • prototyping
  • application design
  • UX
  • UI
  • CMS
  • implementation
  • agile development
  • quality management